A fortress of storytelling

Montana PBS Producers John Twiggs and Anna Rau give me a tutorial on how to run the Sony PDW-F355 I’ll be using for the next few months

Exciting new things are shaking out in the basement of the capitol building. The Montana Public Radio Office is beginning to look a lot TV-ier.

Since College, one of my life goals has been to produce documentaries for a PBS station–ideally Montana PBS.

This Summer and Fall, I’m getting that chance.

My former professors/Montana broadcasting idols/sort-of colleagues are entrusting me with a half-hour documentary on the ballot measures up for this November election (like initiatives and stuff).

It’s a ridiculous honor and an intimidating one. I’ve never shot in High Definition before, nor with such top-shelf professional equipment.

On top of all the camera gear, my editing station is getting a major facelift. A brand new computer that supports not only the audio-editing software I use but also my very own copy of Avid Media Composer (which for those of you in the know–is nothing to shake a stick at.)

Dual 20-inch monitors!

I shot with the camera for the first time last night, grabbing some sunset shots of the capitol.

The heat is on now, my friends.

One comment

Leave a comment